Food in Schools logo
in the curriculum
Foundation Stage

The foundation stage was introduced as a distinct phase of education for children aged 3-5 in September 2000. There are six areas of learning which form the basis of the foundation stage curriculum. These areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Mathematical development
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

Each area of learning has a set of related early learning goals.
Learning about food and using food as a context for other learning forms a part of the experience for many 3-5 year olds, as this lays important foundations for understanding diet and health in later life as well as establishing good eating habits.

For further information



email us: